Header cover image

Mexican (IPC) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-4.9%
  • 3M-10.5%
  • 1Y-8.2%
  • YTD-11.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Food industry has dropped 5.7%, driven by declines from every company within the industry. Overall the industry is down 7.4% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Mexican Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024Mex$493.3bMex$593.6bMex$27.1b15.9x18.2x0.8x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024Mex$620.2bMex$781.7bMex$40.2b13.9x15.4x0.8x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023Mex$630.8bMex$781.5bMex$40.2b13.1x15.7x0.8x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023Mex$612.7bMex$782.7bMex$40.2b12.8x15.2x0.8x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023Mex$576.0bMex$786.9bMex$40.4b13.1x14.3x0.7x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023Mex$615.5bMex$781.8bMex$40.1b14.7x15.4x0.8x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023Mex$633.3bMex$780.3bMex$40.0b15.4x15.8x0.8x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023Mex$631.0bMex$772.8bMex$42.7b14.6x14.8x0.8x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023Mex$641.0bMex$775.2bMex$42.8b14.7x15x0.8x
Wed, 03 May 2023Mex$664.5bMex$778.1bMex$43.9b15.3x15.1x0.9x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023Mex$591.1bMex$663.6bMex$37.3b16.7x15.9x0.9x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023Mex$573.0bMex$658.9bMex$37.0b17.3x15.5x0.9x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023Mex$603.5bMex$656.1bMex$27.4b20.6x22x0.9x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022Mex$548.5bMex$660.5bMex$27.7b17.2x19.8x0.8x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022Mex$542.7bMex$658.9bMex$27.6b16.7x19.6x0.8x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022Mex$447.9bMex$636.6bMex$25.8b15.3x17.3x0.7x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022Mex$472.0bMex$635.2bMex$25.8b14.8x18.3x0.7x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022Mex$492.1bMex$636.0bMex$25.8b15.3x19.1x0.8x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022Mex$467.4bMex$614.0bMex$23.6b13.4x19.8x0.8x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022Mex$446.0bMex$609.9bMex$23.3b14.5x19.1x0.7x
Thu, 05 May 2022Mex$447.3bMex$612.6bMex$23.5b15.2x19x0.7x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022Mex$453.6bMex$588.1bMex$23.2b15.4x19.5x0.8x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022Mex$472.5bMex$587.3bMex$24.9b17.4x19x0.8x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022Mex$443.7bMex$567.8bMex$22.6b16.7x19.6x0.8x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021Mex$447.0bMex$567.8bMex$22.6b17.3x19.8x0.8x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021Mex$424.2bMex$567.8bMex$22.6b16.7x18.7x0.7x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021Mex$434.9bMex$562.6bMex$22.8b17.8x19.1x0.8x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021Mex$419.6bMex$562.6bMex$22.8b18.4x18.4x0.7x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021Mex$379.5bMex$562.6bMex$22.8b16.1x16.7x0.7x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021Mex$358.1bMex$565.2bMex$22.6b15x15.9x0.6x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021Mex$339.7bMex$558.3bMex$17.0b18.9x20x0.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20x


Total Market Cap: Mex$339.7bTotal Earnings: Mex$17.0bTotal Revenue: Mex$558.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mexican Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Mexican Food industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.76x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have grown 17% per year over the last three years, while revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since profits are increasing while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mexican Consumer Staples industry?

MX Market0.052%
Consumer Staples-1.45%
Food-4.85%
Agricultural Products0%
Packaged Foods and Meats-4.85%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.4x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 13.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 34.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 17.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 14% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 35% per year.
  • In contrast, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 14% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GRUMA B

Mex$299.87

Gruma. de

7D

-4.8%

1Y

13.1%

BAFAR B

Mex$121.99

Grupo Bafar. de

7D

-2.4%

1Y

24.5%

HERDEZ *

Mex$44.59

Grupo Herdez. de

7D

-3.1%

1Y

0.9%

BACHOCO B

Mex$85.00

Industrias Bachoco. de

7D

-7.6%

1Y

3.5%