Header cover image

Mexican (IPC) Food and Staples Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-2.0%
  • 3M-4.9%
  • 1Y-4.8%
  • YTD-9.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Food and Staples Retail industry has dropped 2.5%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. However, the industry is down 5.6% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 9.2% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Mexican Food and Staples Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024Mex$1.4tMex$1.5tMex$73.2b16.9x18.6x0.9x
Thu, 16 May 2024Mex$1.5tMex$1.5tMex$73.3b17.2x20.1x1x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024Mex$1.5tMex$1.5tMex$70.8b18.2x20.5x1x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024Mex$1.5tMex$1.5tMex$70.8b18.4x20.8x1x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024Mex$1.6tMex$1.5tMex$70.0b17.7x22.3x1.1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024Mex$1.5tMex$1.5tMex$70.0b16.6x21.2x1x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.5tMex$70.0b15.5x20.2x1x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.5tMex$69.7b15.4x20.2x1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.4tMex$67.6b16.5x20.7x1x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.4tMex$67.6b16.4x21x1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.4tMex$66.6b17.7x21.5x1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.4tMex$66.6b17.5x21.6x1x
Fri, 19 May 2023Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$66.5b18x22.7x1.1x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$65.0b17.2x22.8x1.1x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$67.0b14x23x1.1x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$63.7b16x23.6x1.1x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$63.7b15.7x23.6x1.1x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.4tMex$63.7b16x24.1x1.1x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022Mex$1.6tMex$1.4tMex$63.7b16x25.3x1.2x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.3tMex$62.1b12.7x23.8x1.1x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022Mex$1.4tMex$1.3tMex$62.1b12.8x22.5x1.1x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.3tMex$60.0b14x24.6x1.2x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022Mex$1.3tMex$1.3tMex$59.7b13.5x22.5x1.1x
Sat, 21 May 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.3tMex$59.7b13.5x24.7x1.2x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$57.9b15.1x26.8x1.3x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022Mex$1.6tMex$1.2tMex$57.9b14.3x26.8x1.3x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$56.1b17.1x26.1x1.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$56.1b17.3x26x1.2x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.2tMex$56.1b16.6x25x1.2x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$55.0b29.5x27.2x1.3x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.1tMex$52.3b20.6x26.7x1.2x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.1tMex$52.3b21.4x26.8x1.2x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021Mex$1.3tMex$1.1tMex$52.3b20.4x24.8x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24.8x


Total Market Cap: Mex$1.3tTotal Earnings: Mex$52.3bTotal Revenue: Mex$1.1tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mexican Food and Staples Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Mexican Consumer Retailing industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 23.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.90x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Retailing industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mexican Consumer Staples industry?

MX Market-1.46%
Consumer Staples-1.80%
Food and Staples Retail-2.03%
Food Distributors0%
Drug Retail-1.05%
Big Box Super Stores-1.84%
Food Retail-3.89%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Big Box Super Stores industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 24.7x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 0.1% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Food Retail industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 16.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Drug Retail industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 43% per year.
  • In contrast, the Big Box Super Stores industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.9% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SORIANA B Organización Soriana S. A. B. de C. VMex$30.902.4%
+Mex$1.3b
6.3%PE11.7x
WALMEX * Wal-Mart de México. deMex$62.050.06%
+Mex$697.9m
-8.3%PE20.3x
LACOMER UBC La Comer. deMex$36.010.6%
+Mex$228.1m
-9.5%PE17.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.