Header cover image

Mexican (IPC) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies20
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M14.4%
  • 1Y22.2%
  • YTD13.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Discretionary industry has dropped 3.4%, driven by a pullback from El Puerto de Liverpool. de of 5.4%. In contrast, Ollamani has gained 9.2%. In the past year, the industry has gained 22%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Mexican Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Apr 2024Mex$367.9bMex$505.8bMex$28.6b12x12.9x0.7x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024Mex$367.0bMex$512.5bMex$28.5b12.3x12.9x0.7x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024Mex$350.8bMex$509.7bMex$28.7b16.1x12.2x0.7x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024Mex$390.5bMex$580.2bMex$33.2b14.8x11.8x0.7x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023Mex$369.1bMex$583.1bMex$33.2b13.7x11.1x0.6x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023Mex$358.8bMex$582.5bMex$33.2b14.9x10.8x0.6x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023Mex$365.3bMex$590.6bMex$31.4b14x11.6x0.6x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023Mex$371.8bMex$584.4bMex$31.3b12.9x11.9x0.6x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023Mex$376.6bMex$585.2bMex$31.6b12.7x11.9x0.6x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023Mex$377.6bMex$570.5bMex$30.0b15.7x12.6x0.7x
Wed, 24 May 2023Mex$368.4bMex$575.4bMex$30.0b16.8x12.3x0.6x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023Mex$375.8bMex$559.0bMex$30.3b15x12.4x0.7x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023Mex$270.9bMex$417.0bMex$22.6b17.3x12x0.6x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023Mex$364.1bMex$507.6bMex$27.2b16x13.4x0.7x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023Mex$363.5bMex$508.0bMex$27.3b16.6x13.3x0.7x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022Mex$349.5bMex$509.0bMex$27.3b16.3x12.8x0.7x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022Mex$331.2bMex$508.7bMex$27.3b15.7x12.1x0.7x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022Mex$310.9bMex$484.8bMex$24.6b16.9x12.7x0.6x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022Mex$312.4bMex$485.1bMex$24.6b16.9x12.7x0.6x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022Mex$322.4bMex$483.9bMex$24.8b17.7x13x0.7x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022Mex$289.6bMex$417.8bMex$20.7b18.8x14x0.7x
Thu, 26 May 2022Mex$322.0bMex$454.8bMex$22.4b15.1x14.4x0.7x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022Mex$326.2bMex$433.8bMex$17.9b19.6x18.2x0.8x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022Mex$332.4bMex$441.3bMex$18.0b18.9x18.5x0.8x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022Mex$312.0bMex$409.7bMex$13.8b16.4x22.6x0.8x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022Mex$315.2bMex$406.3bMex$12.8b17.3x24.7x0.8x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021Mex$301.0bMex$406.9bMex$12.8b17.1x23.6x0.7x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021Mex$312.6bMex$472.7bMex$10.8b17.6x29x0.7x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021Mex$302.8bMex$458.8bMex$9.1b15.5x33.3x0.7x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021Mex$305.7bMex$392.1bMex$10.0b16.1x30.6x0.8x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021Mex$297.8bMex$392.1bMex$10.0b16.3x29.8x0.8x
Thu, 06 May 2021Mex$271.2bMex$330.7b-Mex$7,071,618,368.0026.6x-38.4x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-38.4x


Total Market Cap: Mex$271.2bTotal Earnings: -Mex$7,071,618,368.00Total Revenue: Mex$330.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mexican Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Mexican Consumer Discretionary industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 14.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.70x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Consumer Discretionary industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mexican Consumer Discretionary sector?

MX Market-2.24%
Consumer Discretionary-0.55%
Consumer Durables0.22%
Auto0%
Leisure0%
Luxury0%
Consumer Services0%
Retail Distributors0%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
Specialty Stores-0.031%
General Merchandise and Department Stores-0.36%
Hospitality-0.66%
Auto Components-4.20%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Hospitality industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 18.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 38.9% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Auto Components industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 91% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 91% per year.
  • In contrast, the General Merchandise and Department Stores industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.0% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AGUILAS CPO OllamaniMex$33.534.6%
+Mex$176.7m
n/an/a
ARA * Consorcio ARA S. A. B. de C. VMex$3.312.8%
+Mex$110.0m
-15.3%PE6.1x
HCITY * Hoteles City Express. deMex$4.871.0%
+Mex$20.6m
-42.0%PS0.6x
URBI * Urbi Desarrollos Urbanos. deMex$8.0116.1%
+Mex$12.9m
23.2%PE1.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.