Header cover image

Mexican (IPC) Capital Markets Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M-2.5%
  • 1Y3.5%
  • YTD-3.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Capital Markets industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 3.5%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 8.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Mexican Capital Markets Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 24 Jul 2024Mex$91.3bMex$40.5bMex$6.1b10.6x14.9x2.3x
Fri, 21 Jun 2024Mex$93.3bMex$40.4bMex$5.9b16.1x15.8x2.3x
Sun, 19 May 2024Mex$94.4bMex$40.6bMex$6.0b15.5x15.6x2.3x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024Mex$67.2bMex$17.5bMex$3.5b22.2x19.3x3.8x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024Mex$99.6bMex$39.7bMex$6.1b20.8x16.2x2.5x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024Mex$95.9bMex$39.8bMex$5.6b16.6x17.2x2.4x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024Mex$92.2bMex$39.8bMex$5.6b16.6x16.6x2.3x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023Mex$89.9bMex$39.8bMex$5.6b14.1x16.2x2.3x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023Mex$87.1bMex$39.9bMex$5.6b14.3x15.7x2.2x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023Mex$91.2bMex$39.0bMex$4.9b11.5x18.6x2.3x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023Mex$87.1bMex$39.0bMex$4.9b11.8x17.7x2.2x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023Mex$87.1bMex$40.3bMex$3.4b11.8x25.8x2.2x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023Mex$88.7bMex$39.7bMex$3.6b11.4x24.9x2.2x
Mon, 22 May 2023Mex$90.5bMex$39.7bMex$3.5b13.5x25.6x2.3x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023Mex$70.6bMex$37.9bMex$3.9b12.8x17.9x1.9x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023Mex$71.0bMex$37.5bMex$3.9b12.2x18.1x1.9x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023Mex$72.1bMex$39.9bMex$4.2b10.6x17.3x1.8x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023Mex$71.2bMex$39.9bMex$4.2b10.4x17.1x1.8x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022Mex$70.5bMex$39.9bMex$4.2b10.2x16.9x1.8x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022Mex$85.4bMex$39.9bMex$3.1b10.1x27.5x2.1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022Mex$87.9bMex$41.7bMex$4.4b9.1x19.9x2.1x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022Mex$87.5bMex$41.7bMex$4.4b9.2x19.8x2.1x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022Mex$88.2bMex$42.7bMex$5.9b12.5x15x2.1x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022Mex$90.9bMex$42.6bMex$5.8b12.6x15.6x2.1x
Tue, 24 May 2022Mex$94.9bMex$42.6bMex$5.8b13.5x16.2x2.2x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022Mex$91.5bMex$43.4bMex$6.3b14.9x14.5x2.1x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022Mex$88.0bMex$38.3bMex$5.5b16.9x16.1x2.3x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022Mex$94.2bMex$35.6bMex$5.3b20.9x17.7x2.6x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022Mex$89.9bMex$35.6bMex$5.3b23.3x16.9x2.5x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021Mex$88.0bMex$35.6bMex$5.3b21.5x16.6x2.5x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021Mex$93.1bMex$40.9bMex$6.1b16x15.3x2.3x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021Mex$92.4bMex$37.9bMex$5.8b16.2x15.8x2.4x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021Mex$1.2tMex$37.9bMex$5.8b17.3x203.1x31.3x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021Mex$1.2tMex$37.9bMex$5.8b17.1x198.2x30.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

198.2x


Total Market Cap: Mex$1.2tTotal Earnings: Mex$5.8bTotal Revenue: Mex$37.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mexican Capital Markets Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Mexican Capital Markets industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 23.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Capital Markets industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.2% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mexican Financials industry?

MX Market-1.03%
Financials0.51%
Capital Markets-1.40%
Asset Management0%
Diversified Capital Markets0%
Investment Banking and Brokerage-2.07%
Financial Exchanges and Data-4.45%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Asset Management industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 31.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Financial Exchanges and Data industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 13.5x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Investment Banking and Brokerage industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Financial Exchanges and Data industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.4% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.