Header cover image

Kenyan (NSE) Diversified Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D3.4%
  • 3M4.4%
  • 1Y-10.2%
  • YTDn/a

The Diversified Banks industry is up 3.4% in the last week, with Equity Group Holdings up 8.0%. During this same period, the BK Group underperformed, falling 13%. In contrast, the industry has lost 10% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Kenyan Diversified Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024KSh605.5bKSh585.7bKSh192.0b3.5x3.2x1x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024KSh578.9bKSh588.4bKSh192.9b3.3x3x1x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023KSh558.7bKSh587.4bKSh192.6b3.3x2.9x1x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023KSh559.2bKSh567.5bKSh188.6b3.3x3x1x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023KSh583.3bKSh567.3bKSh188.6b3.5x3.1x1x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023KSh597.2bKSh567.3bKSh188.6b3.4x3.2x1.1x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023KSh637.0bKSh556.3bKSh186.9b3.8x3.4x1.1x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023KSh627.9bKSh556.2bKSh186.8b3.6x3.4x1.1x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023KSh614.1bKSh546.3bKSh182.2b3.7x3.4x1.1x
Wed, 03 May 2023KSh673.7bKSh533.5bKSh181.6b3.9x3.7x1.3x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023KSh677.7bKSh514.5bKSh179.5b3.8x3.8x1.3x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023KSh682.8bKSh493.2bKSh177.4b3.7x3.8x1.4x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023KSh676.4bKSh491.0bKSh176.7b3.8x3.8x1.4x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022KSh650.0bKSh491.1bKSh176.7b3.7x3.7x1.3x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022KSh644.2bKSh469.8bKSh166.7b3.8x3.9x1.4x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022KSh632.8bKSh469.8bKSh166.7b3.7x3.8x1.3x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022KSh666.4bKSh469.8bKSh166.7b4x4x1.4x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022KSh677.3bKSh445.3bKSh156.5b4.4x4.3x1.5x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022KSh635.7bKSh445.5bKSh156.2b3.9x4.1x1.4x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022KSh619.8bKSh432.3bKSh148.7b4x4.2x1.4x
Thu, 05 May 2022KSh630.9bKSh426.1bKSh145.0b4.5x4.4x1.5x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022KSh699.0bKSh430.9bKSh145.6b4.7x4.8x1.6x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022KSh692.2bKSh391.1bKSh128.8b5.3x5.4x1.8x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022KSh687.9bKSh391.1bKSh128.8b5.3x5.3x1.8x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021KSh654.9bKSh388.6bKSh127.9b5.2x5.1x1.7x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021KSh679.9bKSh370.3bKSh114.7b6.1x5.9x1.8x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021KSh671.6bKSh360.5bKSh112.0b6.2x6x1.9x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021KSh699.8bKSh357.5bKSh107.3b6.9x6.5x2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021KSh695.0bKSh364.4bKSh107.4b6.7x6.5x1.9x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021KSh618.3bKSh337.8bKSh91.4b6.9x6.8x1.8x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021KSh598.7bKSh325.2bKSh86.0b6.6x7x1.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7x


Total Market Cap: KSh598.7bTotal Earnings: KSh86.0bTotal Revenue: KSh325.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Kenyan Diversified Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Kenyan Diversified Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 3.2x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 4.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Banks industry have grown 31% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 22% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Kenyan Diversified Banks compare with similar industries?

KE Market2.00%
Financials3.10%
Banks3.38%
Diversified Banks3.37%
Regional Banks6.98%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
EQTY Equity Group HoldingsKSh41.008.0%
+KSh11.5b
-10.8%PB0.8x
COOP Co-operative Bank of KenyaKSh12.906.6%
+KSh4.7b
2.8%PB0.7x
IMH I&M GroupKSh18.858.6%
+KSh2.5b
4.7%PB0.4x
NCBA NCBA GroupKSh37.603.6%
+KSh2.1b
3.9%PB0.7x
KCB KCB GroupKSh20.503.3%
+KSh2.1b
-46.5%PB0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BKG

KSh32.15

BK Group

7D

-13.1%

1Y

3.7%

DTK

KSh45.50

Diamond Trust Bank Kenya

7D

-0.1%

1Y

-5.4%

KCB

KSh20.50

KCB Group

7D

3.3%

1Y

-46.5%

NCBA

KSh37.60

NCBA Group

7D

3.6%

1Y

3.9%

ABSA

KSh12.25

Absa Bank Kenya

7D

1.2%

1Y

-2.4%

COOP

KSh12.90

Co-operative Bank of Kenya

7D

6.6%

1Y

2.8%

SBIC

KSh114.75

Stanbic Holdings

7D

0.7%

1Y

5.3%

EQTY

KSh41.00

Equity Group Holdings

7D

8.0%

1Y

-10.8%

IMH

KSh18.85

I&M Group

7D

8.6%

1Y

4.7%

SCBK

KSh164.00

Standard Chartered Bank Kenya

7D

0.3%

1Y

0.6%