Header cover image

Kenyan (NSE) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D0.5%
  • 3M-3.9%
  • 1Y-28.2%
  • YTD-5.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has dropped 1.0%, driven by a pullback from East African Breweries of 0.7%. The industry has fallen 28% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 23% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Kenyan Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024KSh145.6bKSh186.0bKSh16.4b9.7x8.9x0.8x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024KSh145.0bKSh176.7bKSh18.4b8.5x7.9x0.8x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023KSh150.6bKSh177.2bKSh18.7b9.1x8.1x0.8x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023KSh151.1bKSh170.9bKSh18.5b9.1x8.2x0.9x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023KSh167.7bKSh170.8bKSh18.4b10.6x9.1x1x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023KSh165.3bKSh170.8bKSh18.4b10.4x9x1x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023KSh174.8bKSh170.8bKSh18.6b9x9.4x1x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023KSh197.3bKSh173.8bKSh20.7b8.8x9.5x1.1x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023KSh195.0bKSh173.8bKSh20.9b8.5x9.3x1.1x
Tue, 09 May 2023KSh186.7bKSh172.9bKSh20.8b8.6x9x1.1x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023KSh198.4bKSh172.9bKSh20.8b6.5x9.6x1.1x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023KSh203.5bKSh171.9bKSh20.4b9.3x10x1.2x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023KSh201.0bKSh169.9bKSh19.8b9.9x10.2x1.2x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022KSh196.7bKSh163.3bKSh19.1b10x10.3x1.2x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022KSh193.3bKSh162.8bKSh19.8b9.7x9.8x1.2x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022KSh196.5bKSh162.8bKSh19.8b9.5x9.9x1.2x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022KSh174.6bKSh166.7bKSh19.5b12.1x9x1x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022KSh184.5bKSh153.6bKSh16.8b12.9x11x1.2x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022KSh172.5bKSh153.6bKSh16.8b11.8x10.3x1.1x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022KSh166.7bKSh153.5bKSh16.8b11.4x9.9x1.1x
Wed, 11 May 2022KSh170.4bKSh155.4bKSh15.8b11.9x10.8x1.1x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022KSh187.4bKSh153.5bKSh16.8b12.8x11.2x1.2x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022KSh191.5bKSh153.8bKSh17.0b13.3x11.3x1.2x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022KSh196.4bKSh145.3bKSh11.1b15.1x17.7x1.4x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021KSh195.1bKSh144.7bKSh10.5b30.9x18.5x1.3x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021KSh183.6bKSh144.7bKSh10.5b27.9x17.5x1.3x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021KSh195.9bKSh144.7bKSh10.5b31.8x18.7x1.4x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021KSh200.5bKSh144.7bKSh10.5b31.5x19.1x1.4x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021KSh207.9bKSh145.5b-KSh4,228,401,076.0031.4x-49.2x1.4x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021KSh211.1bKSh138.2b-KSh6,041,202,076.0043.1x-34.9x1.5x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021KSh198.4bKSh130.1b-KSh7,644,163,076.0034.2x-26x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-26x


Total Market Cap: KSh198.4bTotal Earnings: -KSh7,644,163,076.00Total Revenue: KSh130.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Kenyan Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 3.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Kenyan Consumer Staples industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 3.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.79x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Consumer Staples industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Kenyan Consumer Staples sector?

KE Market-0.055%
Consumer Staples0.47%
Tobacco2.60%
Food1.06%
Food and Staples Retail0%
Household Products0%
Personal Products0%
Beverage-0.70%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Food industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.9x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Tobacco industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 7.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Beverage industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 23% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 33% per year.
  • In contrast, the Beverage industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 23% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WTK Williamson Tea KenyaKSh229.502.0%
+KSh78.8m
31.1%PE5.5x
BAT British American Tobacco KenyaKSh415.000.06%
+KSh25.0m
-8.5%PE6.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BAT

KSh415.00

British American Tobacco Kenya

7D

0.06%

1Y

-8.5%

SASN

KSh19.95

Sasini

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-9.3%

EABL

KSh105.75

East African Breweries

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-39.7%

WTK

KSh229.50

Williamson Tea Kenya

7D

2.0%

1Y

31.1%

EGAD

KSh13.00

Eaagads

7D

-1.5%

1Y

11.6%