Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Electric Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 27, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-0.9%
  • 3M-5.5%
  • 1Y-4.8%
  • YTD-7.7%

In the last week, Electric Utilities has been flat. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 4.8% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 10% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Electric Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 27 Nov 2022NZ$24.3bNZ$8.8bNZ$1.0b32.1x24.3x2.8x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022NZ$23.2bNZ$8.6bNZ$1.0b15.6x22.7x2.7x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022NZ$26.1bNZ$8.6bNZ$1.0b18x25.5x3x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022NZ$26.4bNZ$8.9bNZ$866.2m33.7x30.5x3x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022NZ$24.5bNZ$8.9bNZ$896.2m24x27.4x2.8x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022NZ$23.1bNZ$8.9bNZ$896.2m22.8x25.8x2.6x
Fri, 13 May 2022NZ$24.7bNZ$10.1bNZ$833.1m21.6x29.7x2.5x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022NZ$26.1bNZ$10.1bNZ$833.1m22.7x31.3x2.6x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022NZ$25.4bNZ$10.1bNZ$833.1m22.4x30.5x2.5x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022NZ$24.3bNZ$10.2bNZ$447.4mn/a54.2x2.4x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022NZ$25.6bNZ$10.2bNZ$447.4m46.1x57.3x2.5x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021NZ$25.3bNZ$10.2bNZ$447.4m45.1x56.6x2.5x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021NZ$26.5bNZ$9.9bNZ$274.8m63.8x96.5x2.7x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021NZ$27.0bNZ$9.9bNZ$274.8m65.8x98.1x2.7x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021NZ$27.0bNZ$9.9bNZ$274.8m70.4x98.3x2.7x
Fri, 09 Jul 2021NZ$27.2bNZ$9.9bNZ$274.8m69.3x98.8x2.8x
Thu, 01 Apr 2021NZ$25.7bNZ$9.2bNZ$338.8m51.9x75.7x2.8x
Sun, 03 Jan 2021NZ$26.8bNZ$8.7bNZ$795.1m39.8x33.7x3.1x
Wed, 07 Oct 2020NZ$20.6bNZ$8.6bNZ$768.4m30.1x26.8x2.4x
Tue, 30 Jun 2020NZ$19.6bNZ$8.6bNZ$728.3m30.6x26.9x2.3x
Fri, 03 Apr 2020NZ$17.1bNZ$8.7bNZ$289.7m26.8x58.9x2x
Mon, 06 Jan 2020NZ$20.8bNZ$9.1bNZ$443.9m34.2x46.8x2.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

34.4x


Total Market Cap: NZ$20.5bTotal Earnings: NZ$596.3mTotal Revenue: NZ$9.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Electric Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 48.3x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the New Zealander Electric Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 24.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 48.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electric Utilities industry have grown 19% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 2.1% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Utilities industry?

NZ Market-0.15%
Utilities0.12%
Electric Utilities-0.86%
Electric Utilities-0.86%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MNW Manawa EnergyNZ$5.193.0%
+NZ$46.9m
-27.4%PE45.5x
IFT InfratilNZ$8.720.5%
+NZ$29.0m
9.0%PE68x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MCY

NZ$5.55

Mercury NZ

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-6.3%

IFT

NZ$8.72

Infratil

7D

0.5%

1Y

9.0%

MNW

NZ$5.19

Manawa Energy

7D

3.0%

1Y

-27.4%

GNE

NZ$2.69

Genesis Energy

7D

-0.6%

1Y

-9.1%