Header cover image

Moroccan (MASI) Materials Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D0.7%
  • 3M9.3%
  • 1Y13.3%
  • YTD3.5%

In the last week, the Materials industry is flat overall, with Compagnie Minière de Touissit standing out by going down 9.2%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 12% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 15% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Moroccan Materials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024د.م99.8bد.م28.3bد.م3.4b25.9x29.4x3.5x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024د.م99.2bد.م28.3bد.م3.5b20.8x28.2x3.5x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023د.م95.3bد.م29.3bد.م3.6b22.5x26.8x3.2x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023د.م93.4bد.م29.3bد.م3.6b21.9x26.3x3.2x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023د.م96.6bد.م29.3bد.م3.6b22.8x27.1x3.3x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023د.م90.1bد.م30.2bد.م4.4b19.5x20.7x3x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023د.م92.4bد.م30.2bد.م4.4b19.9x21.2x3.1x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023د.م90.6bد.م30.2bد.م4.4b18.9x20.8x3x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023د.م89.1bد.م30.2bد.م4.4b18.9x20.5x2.9x
Tue, 09 May 2023د.م86.5bد.م30.5bد.م4.7b18.3x18.3x2.8x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023د.م85.3bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b17.4x16.3x2.8x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023د.م86.6bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b18.1x16.5x2.8x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023د.م82.9bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b16.8x15.8x2.7x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022د.م87.7bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b17.5x16.7x2.9x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022د.م85.6bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b17.8x16.3x2.8x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022د.م86.3bد.م30.7bد.م5.2b18.1x16.5x2.8x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022د.م97.4bد.م27.5bد.م4.3b22.5x22.4x3.5x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022د.م96.4bد.م27.5bد.م4.3b22x22.2x3.5x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022د.م90.9bد.م27.5bد.م4.3b20.1x20.9x3.3x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022د.م102.4bد.م27.9bد.م4.3b20.9x23.6x3.7x
Wed, 11 May 2022د.م104.4bد.م27.9bد.م4.4b21.1x23.5x3.7x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022د.م103.3bد.م24.8bد.م3.7b22.8x27.7x4.2x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022د.م100.5bد.م24.8bد.م3.7b22.8x27x4.1x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022د.م112.2bد.م24.7bد.م3.7b25.8x30.1x4.5x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021د.م105.6bد.م24.6bد.م3.7b31.5x28.6x4.3x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021د.م103.1bد.م24.6bد.م3.7b31.8x27.9x4.2x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021د.م104.9bد.م24.6bد.م3.7b31.5x28.5x4.3x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021د.م99.8bد.م22.1bد.م2.6b34.5x37.9x4.5x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021د.م96.2bد.م22.1bد.م2.6b33.4x36.6x4.4x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021د.م92.9bد.م22.1bد.م2.6b36.2x35.3x4.2x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021د.م83.7bد.م22.1bد.م2.6b33.8x31.8x3.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

31.8x


Total Market Cap: د.م83.7bTotal Earnings: د.م2.6bTotal Revenue: د.م22.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Moroccan Materials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Moroccan Materials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 29.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 25.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 3.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Materials industry have grown 8.9% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Moroccan Materials sector?

MA Market1.49%
Materials0.75%
Paper and Forestry Products1.77%
Chemicals1.65%
Metals and Mining1.49%
Basic Materials0.45%
Packaging0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Chemicals industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.0x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Paper and Forestry Products industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 15.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Metals and Mining industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 36% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 62% per year.
  • In contrast, the Basic Materials industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.6% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CMA Ciments du Maroc Société Anonymeد.م1.73k1.2%
+د.م288.7m
32.7%PE28.6x
CMT Compagnie Minière de Touissitد.م1.31k4.4%
+د.م92.5m
-29.0%PE8.6x
LHM LafargeHolcim Marocد.م2.00k0.1%
+د.م46.6m
43.9%PE32x
SMI Societe Metallurgique d'Imiter société anonymeد.م1.39k1.9%
+د.م42.8m
-4.9%n/a
COL Coloradoد.م45.302.4%
+د.م16.9m
5.3%PE20.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MOX

د.م210.00

Maghreb Oxygène

7D

6.1%

1Y

-24.9%

CMT

د.م1,314.00

Compagnie Minière de Touissit

7D

4.4%

1Y

-29.0%

COL

د.م45.30

Colorado

7D

2.4%

1Y

5.3%

MNG

د.م1,800.00

Managem

7D

-3.0%

1Y

-30.2%

CMA

د.م1,725.00

Ciments du Maroc Société Anonyme

7D

1.2%

1Y

32.7%

MDP

د.م19.03

Med Paper

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-29.3%

SID

د.م732.00

SONASID

7D

-2.0%

1Y

22.0%

LHM

د.م1,999.00

LafargeHolcim Maroc

7D

0.1%

1Y

43.9%