Header cover image

Moroccan (MASI) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M1.2%
  • 1Y5.2%
  • YTD2.6%

In the last week, the Consumer Staples industry is up 1.3%, with all of the companies up. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 5.7%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 7.6% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Moroccan Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024د.م53.7bد.م43.1bد.م2.1b23.4x25.4x1.2x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024د.م52.9bد.م43.1bد.م2.1b22.5x25x1.2x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023د.م52.8bد.م42.9bد.م2.1b22.3x25x1.2x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023د.م53.6bد.م43.4bد.م2.3b22.3x23.2x1.2x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023د.م55.5bد.م43.4bد.م2.3b22.9x24x1.3x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023د.م55.5bد.م42.0bد.م2.3b21.6x23.9x1.3x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023د.م57.1bد.م41.9bد.م2.3b23.3x24.7x1.4x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023د.م54.2bد.م41.9bد.م2.3b21.9x23.4x1.3x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023د.م52.7bد.م32.7bد.م2.0b19.7x26.2x1.6x
Sun, 07 May 2023د.م51.6bد.م32.7bد.م2.0b19.3x25.7x1.6x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023د.م49.7bد.م31.2bد.م1.8b21.8x27x1.6x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023د.م51.0bد.م29.8bد.م1.6b26.1x32.8x1.7x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023د.م48.9bد.م29.8bد.م1.6b24.7x31.4x1.6x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022د.م52.9bد.م35.2bد.م1.8b29x29.7x1.5x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022د.م49.4bد.م35.2bد.م1.8b26.9x27.7x1.4x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022د.م52.2bد.م35.2bد.م1.8b27.7x29.3x1.5x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022د.م57.1bد.م33.7bد.م1.7b33.6x33x1.7x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022د.م54.1bد.م33.7bد.م1.7b33.2x31.2x1.6x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022د.م53.1bد.م33.7bد.م1.7b30.5x30.7x1.6x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022د.م56.2bد.م34.4bد.م1.8b32.8x31.4x1.6x
Mon, 09 May 2022د.م59.3bد.م34.4bد.م1.8b34.5x33.1x1.7x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022د.م57.2bد.م34.4bد.م1.9b33.6x30.3x1.7x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022د.م57.7bد.م33.6bد.م1.8b32.6x32.2x1.7x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022د.م61.7bد.م33.6bد.م1.8b31.9x34.5x1.8x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021د.م59.1bد.م34.8bد.م1.8b31.2x33x1.7x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021د.م58.5bد.م34.8bد.م1.8b31.9x32.7x1.7x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021د.م58.2bد.م34.8bد.م1.8b32.1x32.5x1.7x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021د.م59.0bد.م34.2bد.م1.6b32.8x36.7x1.7x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021د.م57.3bد.م34.2bد.م1.6b32.7x35.6x1.7x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021د.م54.4bد.م34.2bد.م1.6b30.5x33.8x1.6x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021د.م50.0bد.م34.2bد.م1.6b27.7x31.1x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

31.1x


Total Market Cap: د.م50.0bTotal Earnings: د.م1.6bTotal Revenue: د.م34.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Moroccan Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 30x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Moroccan Consumer Staples industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 25.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 30.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.6x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have grown 9.6% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Moroccan Consumer Staples sector?

MA Market1.54%
Consumer Staples1.21%
Food1.92%
Food and Staples Retail1.58%
Tobacco0%
Household Products0%
Personal Products0%
Beverage-1.60%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Food industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 32.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 4.7%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 15.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Food and Staples Retail industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 29.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Beverage industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Food industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CSR Cosumarد.م195.102.1%
+د.م387.4m
8.4%PE23.2x
LES Lesieur Cristalد.م278.002.2%
+د.م165.8m
9.2%PE1280.3x
MUT Mutandisد.م270.950.7%
+د.م18.0m
25.4%PE22.8x
CRS Cartier Saadaد.م22.730.4%
+د.م421.2k
-15.2%PE30.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

OUL

د.م1,335.00

Les Eaux Minérales d'Oulmès

7D

-6.0%

1Y

n/a

CRS

د.م22.73

Cartier Saada

7D

0.4%

1Y

-15.2%

CSR

د.م195.10

Cosumar

7D

2.1%

1Y

8.4%

MUT

د.م270.95

Mutandis

7D

0.7%

1Y

25.4%

SBM

د.م2,487.00

Societe des Boissons du Maroc

7D

-0.4%

1Y

5.6%

LES

د.م278.00

Lesieur Cristal

7D

2.2%

1Y

9.2%