Header cover image

Colombian (COLCAP) Financials Sector Analysis

UpdatedDec 08, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D-0.1%
  • 3M1.3%
  • 1Y-24.3%
  • YTD-24.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Financials industry has remained flat, although notably Grupo Aval Acciones y Valores gained 9.2%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 24% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Colombian Financials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 09 Dec 2023Col$99.0tCol$121.7tCol$14.3t6.8x6.9x0.8x
Mon, 06 Nov 2023Col$100.7tCol$123.4tCol$16.2t6.4x6.2x0.8x
Wed, 04 Oct 2023Col$101.5tCol$115.1tCol$14.5t7.3x7x0.9x
Fri, 01 Sep 2023Col$103.5tCol$114.8tCol$15.3t6.8x6.8x0.9x
Sun, 30 Jul 2023Col$112.4tCol$114.3tCol$18.2t6.1x6.2x1x
Tue, 27 Jun 2023Col$110.4tCol$114.1tCol$18.2t6.4x6.1x1x
Thu, 25 May 2023Col$114.1tCol$112.4tCol$18.3t6.1x6.2x1x
Sat, 22 Apr 2023Col$123.9tCol$116.4tCol$18.9t6.4x6.6x1.1x
Mon, 20 Mar 2023Col$109.2tCol$116.6tCol$21.3t4.9x5.1x0.9x
Wed, 15 Feb 2023Col$122.3tCol$121.7tCol$22.4t4x5.4x1x
Fri, 13 Jan 2023Col$133.6tCol$121.7tCol$22.4t4.5x6x1.1x
Sun, 11 Dec 2022Col$129.5tCol$121.4tCol$22.1t5.2x5.9x1.1x
Tue, 08 Nov 2022Col$122.6tCol$120.2tCol$22.8t5.3x5.4x1x
Thu, 06 Oct 2022Col$124.4tCol$121.0tCol$23.6t5x5.3x1x
Sat, 03 Sep 2022Col$130.4tCol$121.2tCol$23.5t5.4x5.6x1.1x
Mon, 01 Aug 2022Col$138.7tCol$118.3tCol$23.2t5.8x6x1.2x
Wed, 29 Jun 2022Col$146.5tCol$118.3tCol$23.2t5.8x6.3x1.2x
Fri, 27 May 2022Col$155.3tCol$118.3tCol$23.2t6x6.7x1.3x
Sun, 24 Apr 2022Col$144.8tCol$108.6tCol$18.5t7x7.8x1.3x
Tue, 22 Mar 2022Col$149.0tCol$108.9tCol$18.6t7.3x8x1.4x
Thu, 17 Feb 2022Col$151.1tCol$103.8tCol$16.3t7.6x9.3x1.5x
Sat, 15 Jan 2022Col$144.3tCol$103.8tCol$16.3t7.3x8.9x1.4x
Mon, 13 Dec 2021Col$138.2tCol$103.9tCol$16.3t7.3x8.5x1.3x
Wed, 10 Nov 2021Col$141.0tCol$98.4tCol$14.3t8.2x9.8x1.4x
Fri, 08 Oct 2021Col$141.6tCol$96.6tCol$13.7t8.4x10.4x1.5x
Sun, 05 Sep 2021Col$136.5tCol$96.7tCol$13.7t8x10x1.4x
Tue, 03 Aug 2021Col$126.9tCol$96.7tCol$13.7t7.6x9.3x1.3x
Fri, 07 May 2021Col$135.5tCol$89.6tCol$9.9t11.1x13.6x1.5x
Mon, 08 Feb 2021Col$143.8tCol$88.5tCol$9.1t11.1x15.7x1.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

16.3x


Total Market Cap: Col$148.8tTotal Earnings: Col$9.1tTotal Revenue: Col$88.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Colombian Financials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.4x20222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Colombian Financials industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 8.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.82x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Financials industry have grown 18% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Colombian Financials sector?

CO Market-0.84%
Financials-0.14%
Banks0.17%
Mortgage Finance0%
Mortgage REITs0%
Consumer Finance0%
Insurance0%
Diversified Financial-0.99%
Capital Markets-1.86%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Financial industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 8.6x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 14.2%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 35.2% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Capital Markets industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 15.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 39% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Financial industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 14% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GRUPOAVAL Grupo Aval Acciones y ValoresCol$500.009.2%
+Col$997.2b
-6.2%PB0.7x
BCOLOMBIA BancolombiaCol$31.98k1.8%
+Col$557.9b
-20.0%PB0.8x
BHI BAC Holding InternationalCol$209.003.0%
+Col$259.3b
-27.3%PB0.6x
GRUBOLIVAR Grupo BolívarCol$49.70k1.4%
+Col$55.4b
-20.0%PB0.3x
BVC Bolsa de Valores de ColombiaCol$11.40k2.7%
+Col$18.2b
47.4%PE20.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GRUBOLIVAR

Col$49,700.00

Grupo Bolívar

7D

1.4%

1Y

-20.0%

BOGOTA

Col$24,000.00

Banco de Bogotá

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-29.4%

GRUPOAVAL

Col$500.00

Grupo Aval Acciones y Valores

7D

9.2%

1Y

-6.2%

BCOLOMBIA

Col$31,980.00

Bancolombia

7D

1.8%

1Y

-20.0%

BVC

Col$11,400.00

Bolsa de Valores de Colombia

7D

2.7%

1Y

47.4%

BHI

Col$209.00

BAC Holding International

7D

3.0%

1Y

-27.3%