Header cover image

Russian (MOEX) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies44
  • 7D0%
  • 3M-1.1%
  • 1Y-27.6%
  • YTD-24.1%

The Utilities industry has stayed flat over the last week. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 28% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to decline by 40% per year.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Russian Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 29 Nov 2022₽1.4t₽5.0t₽329.2b4.1x4.4x0.3x
Thu, 27 Oct 2022₽1.4t₽5.0t₽329.2b4.1x4.4x0.3x
Sat, 24 Sep 2022₽1.4t₽5.0t₽329.2b4.1x4.4x0.3x
Mon, 22 Aug 2022₽1.4t₽5.0t₽332.0b5.2x4.3x0.3x
Wed, 20 Jul 2022₽1.4t₽5.1t₽330.4b5.2x4.4x0.3x
Fri, 17 Jun 2022₽1.5t₽5.2t₽336.5b5.8x4.6x0.3x
Sun, 15 May 2022₽1.5t₽5.2t₽333.0b5.2x4.4x0.3x
Tue, 12 Apr 2022₽1.5t₽5.1t₽382.5b6x3.9x0.3x
Thu, 10 Mar 2022₽1.4t₽5.1t₽385.4b5.9x3.6x0.3x
Sat, 05 Feb 2022₽1.8t₽5.1t₽395.0b7.6x4.5x0.3x
Mon, 03 Jan 2022₽1.9t₽5.1t₽389.1b7.1x5x0.4x
Wed, 01 Dec 2021₽2.0t₽5.1t₽379.9b6.6x5.2x0.4x
Fri, 29 Oct 2021₽2.2t₽5.0t₽370.5b6.8x5.9x0.4x
Sun, 26 Sep 2021₽2.0t₽5.0t₽362.0b6x5.6x0.4x
Tue, 24 Aug 2021₽2.1t₽5.0t₽361.7b7.4x5.7x0.4x
Wed, 30 Jun 2021₽2.2t₽5.0t₽361.7b7.1x6x0.4x
Sat, 03 Apr 2021₽2.2t₽4.8t₽329.4b7.6x6.7x0.5x
Tue, 05 Jan 2021₽2.2t₽4.7t₽325.3b8.5x6.9x0.5x
Fri, 09 Oct 2020₽2.1t₽4.6t₽321.8b8.6x6.6x0.5x
Thu, 02 Jul 2020₽2.1t₽4.8t₽320.2b7.5x6.5x0.4x
Sun, 05 Apr 2020₽1.8t₽5.1t₽340.9b5.9x5.3x0.4x
Wed, 08 Jan 2020₽2.0t₽5.0t₽357.4b7.1x5.6x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

4.4x


Total Market Cap: ₽1.9tTotal Earnings: ₽424.9bTotal Revenue: ₽4.9tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Russian Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 5.6x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Russian Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 4.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 5.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.39x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have declined 8.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Russian Utilities sector?

RU Market0%
Utilities0%
Electric Utilities0%
Gas Utilities0%
Other Utilities0%
Water Utilities0%
Renewable Energy0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Water Utilities industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 11.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Gas Utilities industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 24.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Despite it being negative, analysts are least pessimistic on the Electric Utilities industry since they expect its earnings to decline by only 40% per year over the next 5 years, which isn't as bad as the other industries.
  • This is a reversal from its past annual earnings growth rate of 28% per year.
  • In contrast, the Electric Utilities industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 40% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News