Header cover image

Russian (MOEX) Telecom Sector Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D0%
  • 3M1.0%
  • 1Y-32.4%
  • YTD-29.0%

The Telecom industry has stayed flat over the last week. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 32% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 25% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Russian Telecom Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 29 Nov 2022₽494.7b₽1.5t₽49.6b8.5x10x0.3x
Thu, 27 Oct 2022₽494.7b₽1.5t₽49.6b8.5x10x0.3x
Sat, 24 Sep 2022₽494.7b₽1.5t₽49.6b8.5x10x0.3x
Mon, 22 Aug 2022₽494.7b₽1.5t₽46.7b8.5x10.6x0.3x
Wed, 20 Jul 2022₽494.7b₽1.5t₽46.7b8.5x10.6x0.3x
Fri, 17 Jun 2022₽456.9b₽1.5t₽46.7b8.6x9.8x0.3x
Sun, 15 May 2022₽462.5b₽1.4t₽61.0b6.7x7.6x0.3x
Tue, 12 Apr 2022₽498.1b₽1.4t₽61.0b7.4x8.2x0.3x
Thu, 10 Mar 2022₽500.7b₽1.4t₽55.7b7.2x9x0.4x
Sat, 05 Feb 2022₽609.5b₽1.4t₽53.9b9.4x11.3x0.4x
Mon, 03 Jan 2022₽689.8b₽1.4t₽53.8b12x12.8x0.5x
Wed, 01 Dec 2021₽702.2b₽1.4t₽55.0b12x12.8x0.5x
Fri, 29 Oct 2021₽748.1b₽1.4t₽58.8b11.7x12.7x0.6x
Sun, 26 Sep 2021₽766.1b₽1.4t₽58.8b12.2x13x0.6x
Tue, 24 Aug 2021₽1.2t₽1.7t₽95.2b10.7x12.4x0.7x
Wed, 30 Jun 2021₽1.2t₽1.7t₽95.2b11x13x0.7x
Sat, 03 Apr 2021₽1.3t₽1.6t₽85.5b13.9x15x0.8x
Tue, 05 Jan 2021₽886.5b₽932.8b₽62.8b13.9x14.1x1x
Fri, 09 Oct 2020₽888.4b₽907.9b₽61.2b11x14.5x1x
Thu, 02 Jul 2020₽868.8b₽895.5b₽48.2b14.3x18x1x
Sun, 05 Apr 2020₽712.7b₽749.8b₽41.0b15.6x17.4x1x
Wed, 08 Jan 2020₽624.3b₽877.1b₽44.0b10.4x14.2x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.1x


Total Market Cap: ₽625.6bTotal Earnings: ₽47.9bTotal Revenue: ₽826.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Russian Telecom Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.5x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Russian Communication Services industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 13.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.69x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Communication Services industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 22% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Russian Telecom sector?

RU Market0%
Telecom0%
Entertainment0%
Interactive Media and Services0%
Media0%
Telecom Services and Carriers0%
Wireless Telecom0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Wireless Telecom industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.6x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Telecom Services and Carriers industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 11.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Telecom Services and Carriers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 25% over the next 5 years.
  • This is roughly in line with its past earnings growth rate.
  • In contrast, the Telecom Services and Carriers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 25% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News