Header cover image

Nigerian (NSE) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedDec 03, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D0%
  • 3M-3.5%
  • 1Y7.1%
  • YTD9.3%

In the last week, the Consumer Discretionary industry is flat overall, with R.T Briscoe (Nigeria) standing out by going down 6.9%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 7.1% in that time.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Nigerian Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 03 Dec 2022₦113.0b₦99.6b₦2.0b8.6x55.6x1.1x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022₦112.5b₦99.0b₦3.4b7.7x32.9x1.1x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022₦105.6b₦95.1b₦8.0b8.6x13.2x1.1x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022₦108.6b₦91.9b₦7.2b8.2x15.1x1.2x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022₦103.8b₦88.7b₦7.3b7.8x14.3x1.2x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022₦103.9b₦88.7b₦7.3b8x14.3x1.2x
Thu, 19 May 2022₦97.7b₦87.8b₦3.9b8x25.3x1.1x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022₦96.1b₦80.6b-₦973,355,000.0044.3x-98.7x1.2x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022₦100.3b₦80.8b-₦375,695,000.0035.1x-266.9x1.2x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022₦103.7b₦78.2b-₦1,768,581,657.0035.6x-58.6x1.3x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022₦98.2b₦71.2b-₦7,957,823,657.00257x-12.3x1.4x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021₦100.3b₦71.2b-₦7,246,735,657.00256.8x-13.8x1.4x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021₦95.9b₦71.1b-₦7,277,985,010.00256.4x-13.2x1.3x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021₦94.2b₦62.9b-₦11,246,234,010.004.5x-8.4x1.5x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021₦85.6b₦62.9b-₦11,246,234,010.004.4x-7.6x1.4x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021₦71.7b₦62.9b-₦11,246,234,010.004.2x-6.4x1.1x
Wed, 07 Apr 2021₦59.0b₦52.2b-₦15,938,319,280.002.4x-3.7x1.1x
Sat, 09 Jan 2021₦53.5b₦49.9b-₦16,313,463,867.002.6x-3.3x1.1x
Fri, 02 Oct 2020₦54.1b₦53.6b-₦9,711,096,724.002.1x-5.6x1x
Mon, 06 Jul 2020₦54.1b₦59.8b-₦5,616,097,379.0014.1x-9.6x0.9x
Thu, 09 Apr 2020₦52.4b₦69.9b-₦1,353,378,726.005.6x-38.7x0.7x
Wed, 01 Jan 2020₦60.6b₦69.3b₦2.9b10.6x20.8x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9x


Total Market Cap: ₦63.8bTotal Earnings: ₦7.1bTotal Revenue: ₦69.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Nigerian Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average -14.1x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Nigerien Consumer Discretionary industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 55.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -14.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Discretionary industry have declined 34% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Nigerian Consumer Discretionary sector?

NG Market0.86%
Consumer Discretionary0%
Auto Components0%
Auto0%
Consumer Durables0%
Leisure0%
Luxury0%
Hospitality0%
Consumer Services0%
Retail Distributors0%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
General Merchanise and Department Stores0%
Specialty Stores0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Retail Distributors industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 0.14x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

RTBRISCOE

₦0.27

R.T Briscoe (Nigeria)

7D

-6.9%

1Y

35.0%