Header cover image

Malawian (MSE) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-0.1%
  • 3M14.5%
  • 1Y82.2%
  • YTD5.6%

In the last week, the Banks industry is flat overall, with NBS Bank standing out by going down 4.3%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 82% in that time.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malawian Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024MK3.7tMK834.8bMK255.0b15.3x14.5x4.4x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024MK3.7tMK834.8bMK255.0b15.8x14.5x4.4x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023MK3.3tMK818.6bMK248.7b16.2x13.3x4x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023MK3.2tMK818.6bMK248.7b14x12.9x3.9x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023MK3.3tMK707.8bMK220.6b14x14.9x4.6x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023MK3.5tMK649.6bMK199.3b17.1x17.5x5.4x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023MK3.2tMK589.4bMK171.8b20.2x18.6x5.4x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023MK2.9tMK582.6bMK170.4b19.2x17.2x5x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023MK2.7tMK577.2bMK169.2b13.7x15.9x4.7x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023MK2.4tMK563.5bMK164.7b12.3x14.3x4.2x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023MK2.1tMK499.2bMK133.6b17.5x15.9x4.2x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023MK2.0tMK480.8bMK123.6b15.3x16.4x4.2x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023MK1.9tMK479.9bMK123.4b14.6x15.7x4x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022MK1.6tMK470.4bMK119.4b9.8x13.8x3.5x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022MK1.6tMK471.0bMK119.5b8.9x13.2x3.3x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022MK1.4tMK470.7bMK119.4b8.9x11.6x2.9x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022MK1.5tMK470.4bMK119.4b8.9x12.3x3.1x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022MK1.4tMK434.2bMK106.7b9.6x13x3.2x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022MK1.3tMK435.0bMK106.9b11.2x12.3x3x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022MK1.4tMK434.1bMK106.7b12.7x12.7x3.1x
Mon, 02 May 2022MK1.2tMK396.3bMK94.9b12.7x12.8x3.1x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022MK1.1tMK364.8bMK84.8b14.4x13.3x3.1x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022MK1.1tMK363.0bMK84.6b14.1x12.7x3x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022MK1.1tMK364.7bMK84.8b14.1x12.7x3x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021MK754.1bMK364.8bMK84.8b14.1x8.9x2.1x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021MK664.8bMK364.6bMK84.8b12.2x7.8x1.8x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021MK935.4bMK364.6bMK84.8b12.1x11x2.6x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021MK937.0bMK343.9bMK83.7b11.8x11.2x2.7x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021MK931.0bMK343.9bMK83.7b11.3x11.1x2.7x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021MK851.9bMK333.2bMK80.6b8.6x10.6x2.6x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021MK825.0bMK322.5bMK77.5b8.4x10.6x2.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.6x


Total Market Cap: MK825.0bTotal Earnings: MK77.5bTotal Revenue: MK322.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malawian Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Malawian Banks industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.5x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 49% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 37% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malawian Financials industry?

MW Market-0.23%
Financials-0.11%
Banks-0.11%
Regional Banks0%
Diversified Banks-0.11%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 13.3x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NBM National Bank of MalawiMK2.10k0.002%
+MK23.3m
31.4%PB5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FMBCH

MK413.72

FMBcapital Holdings

7D

-0.3%

1Y

147.7%

NBS

MK109.99

NBS Bank

7D

-0.3%

1Y

186.1%

NBM

MK2,101.80

National Bank of Malawi

7D

0.002%

1Y

31.4%