Header cover image

Malawian (MSE) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 08, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D0.001%
  • 3M17.0%
  • 1Y64.9%
  • YTD51.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Banks industry has remained flat. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 65% over the past 12 months.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malawian Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 08 Dec 2022MK1.6tMK470.4bMK119.4b8.9x13.5x3.4x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022MK1.4tMK469.8bMK119.3b8.8x12.1x3.1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022MK1.4tMK470.7bMK119.4b8.9x11.6x2.9x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022MK1.4tMK448.0bMK111.0b8.9x12.4x3.1x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022MK1.4tMK434.5bMK106.8b9.6x12.9x3.2x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022MK1.3tMK434.5bMK106.8b11.4x12.4x3x
Tue, 24 May 2022MK1.3tMK406.2bMK105.9b13.1x12.6x3.3x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022MK1.2tMK396.4bMK94.9b12.7x12.3x3x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022MK1.1tMK363.6bMK84.7b14.4x13.2x3.1x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022MK1.1tMK362.6bMK84.6b14.1x12.7x3x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022MK1.1tMK365.0bMK84.8b14.1x12.6x2.9x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021MK977.9bMK364.1bMK84.7b12.9x11.5x2.7x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021MK944.8bMK364.6bMK84.8b12.2x11.1x2.6x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021MK956.6bMK364.6bMK84.8b11.8x11.3x2.6x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021MK936.7bMK343.9bMK83.7b11.7x11.2x2.7x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021MK931.1bMK343.9bMK83.7b11.3x11.1x2.7x
Tue, 04 May 2021MK843.1bMK333.2bMK80.6b8.6x10.5x2.5x
Fri, 05 Feb 2021MK810.2bMK322.5bMK77.5b8.5x10.5x2.5x
Mon, 09 Nov 2020MK685.5bMK295.4bMK61.9b10.3x11.1x2.3x
Sun, 02 Aug 2020MK570.4bMK240.2bMK42.8b9.6x13.3x2.4x
Wed, 06 May 2020MK1.3tMK230.5bMK38.3b9.7x34.2x5.7x
Sat, 08 Feb 2020MK622.1bMK221.8bMK33.8b10.8x18.4x2.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.9x


Total Market Cap: MK639.6bTotal Earnings: MK33.8bTotal Revenue: MK221.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malawian Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.2x20212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Malawian Banks industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.8x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 52% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 29% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malawian Financials industry?

MW Market0.031%
Financials0.0011%
Banks0.0011%
Diversified Banks0.0011%
Regional Banks0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.2x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 13.2x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FDHB FDH BankMK15.010.07%
+MK69.0m
7.2%PB3.3x
NBM National Bank of MalawiMK1.50k0.001%
+MK9.3m
114.5%PB4.9x
STANDARD Standard BankMK2.00k0%
MK2.3m
42.9%PB3.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

STANDARD

MK2,000.12

Standard Bank

7D

0%

1Y

42.9%

NBM

MK1,504.19

National Bank of Malawi

7D

0.001%

1Y

114.5%

FDHB

MK15.01

FDH Bank

7D

0.07%

1Y

7.2%

NBS

MK22.58

NBS Bank

7D

-0.09%

1Y

-1.4%