Header cover image

Mauritian (SEMDEX) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 01, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-0.8%
  • 3M-27.3%
  • 1Y-28.1%
  • YTD-31.6%

In the last week, the Food industry is flat overall, with Alteo standing out by going down 4.2%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 28% over the past 12 months.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Mauritian Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 01 Dec 2022MU₨15.3bMU₨22.5bMU₨1.4b8.8x11.2x0.7x
Sat, 29 Oct 2022MU₨20.2bMU₨21.0bMU₨1.3b9.4x15.4x1x
Mon, 26 Sep 2022MU₨21.0bMU₨26.4bMU₨2.9b10.8x7.3x0.8x
Wed, 24 Aug 2022MU₨21.6bMU₨26.4bMU₨2.9b10.8x7.5x0.8x
Fri, 22 Jul 2022MU₨22.4bMU₨26.4bMU₨3.0b6.9x7.5x0.8x
Sun, 19 Jun 2022MU₨24.0bMU₨26.4bMU₨3.0b7.6x8x0.9x
Tue, 17 May 2022MU₨23.8bMU₨25.5bMU₨3.1b9.8x7.7x0.9x
Thu, 14 Apr 2022MU₨24.0bMU₨24.7bMU₨2.9b9.9x8.2x1x
Sat, 12 Mar 2022MU₨22.9bMU₨24.7bMU₨2.9b9.9x7.9x0.9x
Mon, 07 Feb 2022MU₨23.0bMU₨22.9bMU₨2.0b15x11.3x1x
Wed, 05 Jan 2022MU₨22.7bMU₨22.8bMU₨2.0b15x11.2x1x
Fri, 03 Dec 2021MU₨21.0bMU₨22.6bMU₨2.0b13.2x10.3x0.9x
Sun, 31 Oct 2021MU₨22.1bMU₨21.9bMU₨1.8b16.1x12.3x1x
Tue, 28 Sep 2021MU₨21.5bMU₨21.7bMU₨1.1b12.6x19.1x1x
Thu, 26 Aug 2021MU₨20.3bMU₨21.1bMU₨324.4m17.5x62.5x1x
Fri, 02 Jul 2021MU₨20.0bMU₨21.1bMU₨324.4m17.6x61.7x0.9x
Mon, 05 Apr 2021MU₨16.8bMU₨21.1bMU₨277.8m16.5x60.4x0.8x
Thu, 07 Jan 2021MU₨16.9bMU₨21.3bMU₨193.9m16.2x87.1x0.8x
Wed, 30 Sep 2020MU₨13.1bMU₨21.9b-MU₨163,503,000.0017.7x-79.9x0.6x
Sat, 04 Jul 2020MU₨14.8bMU₨21.4b-MU₨433,607,000.0018.3x-34.2x0.7x
Tue, 07 Apr 2020MU₨15.7bMU₨22.2b-MU₨408,035,000.0019.6x-38.5x0.7x
Fri, 10 Jan 2020MU₨18.0bMU₨21.5b-MU₨295,354,000.0014.1x-60.8x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-47.8x


Total Market Cap: MU₨18.0bTotal Earnings: -MU₨375,871,000.00Total Revenue: MU₨20.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mauritian Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 3.1x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Mauritian Food industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 3.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.83x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Food industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 2.4% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mauritian Consumer Staples industry?

MU Market-0.35%
Consumer Staples-0.55%
Food-0.83%
Agricultural Products0%
Packaged Foods and Meats-1.84%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 2kx.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Agricultural Products industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 3.0x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ALTG.N0000

MU₨9.50

Alteo

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-67.0%