Header cover image

Mauritian (SEMDEX) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D0.8%
  • 3M-0.2%
  • 1Y3.1%
  • YTD-1.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has remained flat. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 3.1% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to be flat in the coming years.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Mauritian Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Apr 2024MU₨24.0bMU₨47.9bMU₨4.0b7.1x6.1x0.5x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024MU₨23.5bMU₨48.5bMU₨3.2b8.5x7.4x0.5x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024MU₨24.2bMU₨47.7bMU₨3.0b9.8x8.1x0.5x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024MU₨24.5bMU₨47.2bMU₨2.9b9.8x8.4x0.5x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023MU₨24.3bMU₨47.2bMU₨2.9b9.8x8.3x0.5x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023MU₨24.7bMU₨45.8bMU₨2.9b11.5x8.5x0.5x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023MU₨24.7bMU₨45.7bMU₨3.0b7.9x8.4x0.5x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023MU₨23.8bMU₨43.4bMU₨2.1b10x11.2x0.5x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023MU₨24.0bMU₨43.4bMU₨2.1b10x11.6x0.6x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023MU₨23.5bMU₨43.3bMU₨2.1b9.8x11.3x0.5x
Wed, 24 May 2023MU₨23.7bMU₨42.5bMU₨1.8b11x13.1x0.6x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023MU₨23.9bMU₨41.7bMU₨1.7b12.6x13.9x0.6x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023MU₨24.2bMU₨41.4bMU₨1.8b12.8x13.7x0.6x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023MU₨24.5bMU₨41.2bMU₨1.7b15.1x14.2x0.6x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023MU₨24.8bMU₨39.8bMU₨2.4b16.4x10.2x0.6x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022MU₨24.8bMU₨39.3bMU₨2.1b16.6x11.6x0.6x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022MU₨32.9bMU₨42.0bMU₨1.9b17.6x17.1x0.8x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022MU₨34.4bMU₨41.5bMU₨1.9b17x18.5x0.8x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022MU₨34.4bMU₨46.6bMU₨3.6b15x9.5x0.7x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022MU₨35.4bMU₨46.2bMU₨3.6b13.6x9.8x0.8x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022MU₨36.9bMU₨46.3bMU₨3.7b16.1x10x0.8x
Thu, 26 May 2022MU₨37.8bMU₨45.8bMU₨3.8b17.8x10.1x0.8x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022MU₨38.1bMU₨43.7bMU₨3.6b14.1x10.5x0.9x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022MU₨36.5bMU₨43.5bMU₨3.6b14x10.2x0.8x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022MU₨37.4bMU₨43.2bMU₨3.5b15.6x10.5x0.9x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022MU₨36.4bMU₨41.1bMU₨2.7b17.5x13.6x0.9x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021MU₨35.3bMU₨41.0bMU₨2.7b16.6x13.1x0.9x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021MU₨35.7bMU₨40.2bMU₨2.5b15x14.3x0.9x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021MU₨34.6bMU₨40.0bMU₨1.8b14x19.2x0.9x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021MU₨33.6bMU₨38.6bMU₨896.6m15.6x37.5x0.9x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021MU₨32.9bMU₨38.6bMU₨896.6m15.5x36.7x0.9x
Thu, 06 May 2021MU₨30.1bMU₨38.6bMU₨895.7m15.2x33.6x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

33.6x


Total Market Cap: MU₨30.1bTotal Earnings: MU₨895.7mTotal Revenue: MU₨38.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mauritian Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Mauritian Consumer Staples industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.70x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have grown 64% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.5% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mauritian Consumer Staples sector?

MU Market-0.10%
Consumer Staples0.78%
Beverage1.09%
Food0.64%
Food and Staples Retail0%
Tobacco0%
Household Products0%
Personal Products0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Personal Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Food industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 16.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Beverage industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 0.9% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Beverage industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MSE.N0000 MedineMU₨53.501.9%
+MU₨105.0m
-3.6%PE4.8x
MBL.N0000 Phoenix BeveragesMU₨505.001.0%
+MU₨82.2m
-3.8%PE8.6x
QBL.I0000 Quality BeveragesMU₨8.8010.0%
+MU₨29.4m
-22.1%PE7.1x
HWF.N0000 InnodisMU₨32.600.5%
+MU₨5.5m
0.3%PE15.6x
PHIN.I0000 Phoenix InvestmentMU₨323.250.08%
+MU₨1.4m
1.0%PE6.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

QBL.I0000

MU₨8.80

Quality Beverages

7D

10.0%

1Y

-22.1%

HWF.N0000

MU₨32.60

Innodis

7D

0.5%

1Y

0.3%

MSE.N0000

MU₨53.50

Medine

7D

1.9%

1Y

-3.6%

MBL.N0000

MU₨505.00

Phoenix Beverages

7D

1.0%

1Y

-3.8%

PHIN.I0000

MU₨323.25

Phoenix Investment

7D

0.08%

1Y

1.0%