Header cover image

Icelandic (OMX) Financials Sector Analysis

UpdatedSep 20, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-2.1%
  • 3M-0.9%
  • 1Y-14.3%
  • YTD-7.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Financials industry has dropped 2.1%, driven by declines from every company within the industry. Overall the industry is down 14% in 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 2.2% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Icelandic Financials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 20 Sep 2023Kr562.8bKr201.4bKr58.5b12.8x9.6x2.8x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023Kr603.2bKr200.3bKr58.5b14.2x10.3x3x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023Kr586.2bKr194.9bKr54.1b14.1x10.8x3x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023Kr572.5bKr194.9bKr54.1b14.2x10.6x2.9x
Thu, 11 May 2023Kr585.9bKr193.6bKr53.5b14.7x10.9x3x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023Kr597.7bKr187.1bKr51.8b15.6x11.5x3.2x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023Kr637.1bKr187.1bKr51.8b15.1x12.3x3.4x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023Kr615.4bKr187.5bKr54.6b12x11.3x3.3x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022Kr612.0bKr187.5bKr54.6b11.6x11.2x3.3x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022Kr660.8bKr187.5bKr54.6b12.3x12.1x3.5x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022Kr608.2bKr190.2bKr60.8b10x10x3.2x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022Kr663.5bKr191.5bKr63.1b10.2x10.5x3.5x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022Kr714.5bKr196.7bKr69.3b9.1x10.3x3.6x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022Kr678.3bKr197.7bKr73.6b8.7x9.2x3.4x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022Kr634.9bKr200.4bKr76.8b8.1x8.3x3.2x
Fri, 13 May 2022Kr651.0bKr198.3bKr77.3b8.9x8.4x3.3x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022Kr712.6bKr198.4bKr77.7b9.6x9.2x3.6x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022Kr679.8bKr198.4bKr77.7b9.7x8.7x3.4x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022Kr717.0bKr190.3bKr77.1b9.2x9.3x3.8x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022Kr755.6bKr190.3bKr77.1b9.9x9.8x4x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021Kr742.8bKr190.3bKr77.1b9.6x9.6x3.9x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021Kr769.7bKr175.9bKr66.6b11.1x11.6x4.4x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021Kr668.2bKr174.8bKr65.4b9.5x10.2x3.8x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021Kr457.8bKr130.2bKr50.0b7.5x9.2x3.5x
Fri, 09 Jul 2021Kr645.3bKr174.8bKr65.4b9.4x9.9x3.7x
Thu, 01 Apr 2021Kr316.1bKr119.5bKr40.4b6.7x7.8x2.6x
Sun, 03 Jan 2021Kr264.1bKr105.6bKr26.2b12.5x10.1x2.5x
Wed, 07 Oct 2020Kr201.8bKr100.2bKr19.8b10.1x10.2x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.2x


Total Market Cap: Kr201.8bTotal Earnings: Kr19.8bTotal Revenue: Kr100.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Icelandic Financials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.4x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Icelandic Financials industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Financials industry have grown 43% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 26% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Icelandic Financials sector?

IS Market-1.74%
Financials-2.10%
Mortgage Finance0%
Mortgage REITs0%
Diversified Financial0%
Consumer Finance0%
Banks-1.40%
Insurance-4.11%
Capital Markets-4.22%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Insurance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Banks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 10.7x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 2.2% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 3.3% per year.
  • In contrast, the Banks industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 2.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ARION Arion banki hfKr138.500.4%
+Kr722.9m
-19.5%PB1.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

KVIKA

Kr15.85

Kvika banki hf

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-15.9%

SJOVA

Kr32.30

Sjóvá-Almennar tryggingar hf

7D

-0.6%

1Y

0.3%

VIS

Kr16.00

V√°tryggingaf√©lag √ćslands hf

7D

-5.0%

1Y

-8.0%

ISB

Kr108.50

√ćslandsbanki hf

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-13.2%

ARION

Kr138.50

Arion banki hf

7D

0.4%

1Y

-19.5%