Header cover image

Ghanaian (GSE) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M-3.2%
  • 1Y-4.7%
  • YTD-4.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has remained flat, although notably Benso Palm Plantation gained 10.0%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 4.7% over the past 12 months.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Ghanaian Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 29 Nov 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.7bGH₵114.9m84.1x13.6x0.6x
Thu, 27 Oct 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.6bGH₵92.0m64.6x17x0.6x
Sat, 24 Sep 2022GH₵1.5bGH₵2.6bGH₵92.0m49x16.8x0.6x
Mon, 22 Aug 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.6bGH₵92.0m49x17.8x0.6x
Wed, 20 Jul 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.5bGH₵125.4m33.1x13x0.6x
Fri, 17 Jun 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.5bGH₵125.4m33.1x13x0.6x
Sun, 15 May 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.5bGH₵117.9m33.1x13.8x0.7x
Tue, 12 Apr 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.5bGH₵167.6m49x9.7x0.7x
Thu, 10 Mar 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.5bGH₵159.9m41.6x9.9x0.6x
Sat, 05 Feb 2022GH₵1.5bGH₵2.4bGH₵141.6m41.9x10.6x0.6x
Mon, 03 Jan 2022GH₵1.6bGH₵2.3bGH₵87.6m7.8x18.5x0.7x
Wed, 01 Dec 2021GH₵1.6bGH₵2.3bGH₵87.6m7.8x18.5x0.7x
Fri, 29 Oct 2021GH₵1.6bGH₵2.3bGH₵73.1m7.8x22.2x0.7x
Sun, 26 Sep 2021GH₵1.3bGH₵1.9bGH₵56.6m13.6x22.9x0.7x
Tue, 24 Aug 2021GH₵1.1bGH₵1.9bGH₵56.8m24.2x18.6x0.5x
Wed, 30 Jun 2021GH₵850.9mGH₵1.9bGH₵56.8m23.2x15x0.4x
Sat, 03 Apr 2021GH₵866.6mGH₵1.8bGH₵45.3m33.3x19.1x0.5x
Tue, 05 Jan 2021GH₵1.0bGH₵1.7bGH₵12.2m37.7x82.3x0.6x
Fri, 09 Oct 2020GH₵1.2bGH₵1.6b-GH₵67,913,164.0022x-17x0.7x
Thu, 02 Jul 2020GH₵1.6bGH₵1.5b-GH₵128,588,327.0011.9x-12.1x1x
Sun, 05 Apr 2020GH₵2.0bGH₵1.6b-GH₵80,787,862.0017x-24.2x1.2x
Wed, 08 Jan 2020GH₵2.1bGH₵1.6b-GH₵105,238,396.0022.4x-20.3x1.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.3x


Total Market Cap: GH₵2.2bTotal Earnings: GH₵165.7mTotal Revenue: GH₵1.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Ghanaian Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.1x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Ghanaian Consumer Staples industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 10.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.76x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have declined 11% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Ghanaian Consumer Staples sector?

GH Market0.019%
Consumer Staples-0.58%
Food3.92%
Food and Staples Retail0%
Beverage0%
Tobacco0%
Personal Products0%
Household Products-9.98%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Beverage industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 20.9x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BOPP Benso Palm PlantationGH₵7.6010.0%
+GH₵24.0m
14.3%PE1.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

UNIL

GH₵4.78

Unilever Ghana

7D

-10.0%

1Y

-18.8%

BOPP

GH₵7.60

Benso Palm Plantation

7D

10.0%

1Y

14.3%