Header cover image

South African (JSE) Cable and Satellite Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 07, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies1
  • 7D1.5%
  • 3M1.8%
  • 1Y-0.8%
  • YTD1.3%

The Cable and Satellite industry has stayed flat over the last week. Furthermore, the industry has been flat for the past year as well. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 79% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Cable and Satellite Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 07 Feb 2023R52.0bR57.0b-R258,000,000.00n/a-201.7x0.9x
Thu, 05 Jan 2023R51.7bR57.0b-R258,000,000.00n/a-200.5x0.9x
Sat, 03 Dec 2022R50.2bR57.0b-R258,000,000.00n/a-194.7x0.9x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022R51.2bR55.2bR1.4b37.7x37.7x0.9x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022R50.3bR55.2bR1.4b37.1x37.1x0.9x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022R50.3bR55.2bR1.4b37x37x0.9x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022R50.7bR55.2bR1.4b37.3x37.3x0.9x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022R49.9bR55.2bR1.4b36.8x36.8x0.9x
Thu, 19 May 2022R56.5bR54.2bR1.1b52.7x52.7x1x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022R54.9bR54.2bR1.1b51.2x51.2x1x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022R53.8bR54.2bR1.1b50.2x50.2x1x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022R53.6bR54.2bR1.1b50x50x1x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022R52.8bR54.2bR1.1bn/a49.3x1x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021R53.7bR54.2bR1.1b50.1x50.1x1x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021R51.9bR53.3bR2.2b24x24x1x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021R49.0bR53.3bR2.2b22.7x22.7x0.9x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021R48.7bR53.3bR2.2b22.5x22.5x0.9x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021R50.1bR53.3bR2.2b23.2x23.2x0.9x
Wed, 07 Apr 2021R55.0bR53.3bR2.2b25.5x25.5x1x
Sat, 09 Jan 2021R57.2bR52.6bR1.8b31.4x31.4x1.1x
Fri, 02 Oct 2020R41.4bR51.8bR1.5b27.8x27.8x0.8x
Mon, 06 Jul 2020R45.4bR51.6bR997.0m45.5x45.5x0.9x
Thu, 09 Apr 2020R36.6bR51.4bR507.0m72.2x72.2x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-4645.2x


Total Market Cap: R39.5bTotal Earnings: -R8,500,000.00Total Revenue: R51.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Cable and Satellite Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -110.8x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There is only one company in the South African Cable and Satellite industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Cable and Satellite industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 3.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Cable and Satellite compare with similar industries?

ZA Market-0.27%
Telecom0.97%
Media1.52%
Cable and Satellite1.53%
Publishing2.25%
Advertising0%
Broadcasting-0.0037%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MCG MultiChoice GroupR121.861.5%
+R785.7m
-0.8%PS0.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MCG

R121.86

MultiChoice Group

7D

1.5%

1Y

-0.8%