Header cover image

South African (JSE) Consumer Finance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 16, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies1
  • 7D0%
  • 3M33.3%
  • 1Y71.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Finance industry has dropped 7.7%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 71%.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Consumer Finance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 16 Jul 2024R274.0mR1.6bR557.0k491.9x491.9x0.2x
Thu, 13 Jun 2024R232.9mR1.6bR557.0k418.1x418.1x0.1x
Sat, 11 May 2024R333.5mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.3x0.2x
Mon, 08 Apr 2024R325.6mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.2x0.2x
Wed, 06 Mar 2024R285.9mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.1x0.1x
Fri, 02 Feb 2024R238.2mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-0.9x0.1x
Sun, 31 Dec 2023R317.6mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.2x0.2x
Tue, 28 Nov 2023R254.2mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1x0.1x
Thu, 26 Oct 2023R277.9mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1x0.1x
Sat, 23 Sep 2023R301.8mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.1x0.2x
Mon, 21 Aug 2023R317.6mR2.0b-R265,038,000.00n/a-1.2x0.2x
Wed, 19 Jul 2023R4.8bR25.7b-R495,038,000.00n/a-9.7x0.2x
Fri, 16 Jun 2023R5.2bR25.7b-R495,038,000.00n/a-10.6x0.2x
Sun, 14 May 2023R5.9bR25.5b-R511,804,000.00n/a-11.5x0.2x
Tue, 11 Apr 2023R10.2bR25.9bR1.4b6x7.3x0.4x
Thu, 09 Mar 2023R22.2bR25.9bR1.4b13.1x15.9x0.9x
Sat, 04 Feb 2023R27.2bR25.9bR1.4b16.1x19.5x1.1x
Mon, 02 Jan 2023R25.1bR24.1bR1.7b15x15x1x
Wed, 30 Nov 2022R29.2bR24.1bR1.7b17.4x17.4x1.2x
Fri, 28 Oct 2022R31.4bR6.1bR2.3b13.4x13.4x5.2x
Sun, 25 Sep 2022R28.3bR6.1bR2.3b12.1x12.1x4.6x
Tue, 23 Aug 2022R27.3bR6.1bR2.3b11.6x11.6x4.5x
Thu, 21 Jul 2022R26.5bR6.1bR2.3b11.3x11.3x4.4x
Sat, 18 Jun 2022R27.8bR6.1bR2.3b11.9x11.9x4.6x
Mon, 16 May 2022R31.3bR4.9bR2.3b13.6x13.6x6.5x
Wed, 13 Apr 2022R36.6bR4.9bR2.3b15.9x15.9x7.5x
Fri, 11 Mar 2022R31.7bR4.9bR2.3b13.8x13.8x6.5x
Sun, 06 Feb 2022R31.3bR4.9bR2.3b13.6x13.6x6.4x
Tue, 04 Jan 2022R33.6bR4.9bR2.3b14.6x14.6x6.9x
Thu, 02 Dec 2021R30.1bR4.9bR2.3b13.1x13.1x6.2x
Sat, 30 Oct 2021R31.5bR4.1bR399.0m79.2x78.9x7.7x
Mon, 27 Sep 2021R28.0bR4.1bR399.0m70.1x70.1x6.9x
Wed, 25 Aug 2021R27.2bR4.1bR399.0m68.3x68.3x6.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

65.1x


Total Market Cap: R26.0bTotal Earnings: R399.0mTotal Revenue: R4.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Consumer Finance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 32.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
    There is only one company in the South African Consumer Finance industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Finance industry have declined 89% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 27% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Consumer Finance compare with similar industries?

ZA Market1.24%
Financials2.03%
Consumer Finance0%
Consumer Finance0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ADW African Dawn CapitalR0.11120.0%
+R4.4m
0%PS0.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ADW

R0.11

African Dawn Capital

7D

120.0%

1Y

0%