Header cover image

South African (JSE) Ecommerce Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 27, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies2
  • 7D4.6%
  • 3M98.1%
  • 1Y48.9%
  • YTD17.0%

In the last week, the Ecommerce industry is up 2.4%, with Naspers up 2.4%. This means that the industry has gained 42% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to be flat in the coming years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Ecommerce Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 27 Jan 2023R728.7bR147.5bR37.2b16x19.6x4.9x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022R474.2bR146.1bR36.6b12.9x13x3.2x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022R465.1bR140.8bR211.8b7.3x2.2x3.3x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022R431.8bR148.4bR223.5b7.7x1.9x2.9x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022R497.4bR143.6bR216.1b8.1x2.3x3.5x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022R522.2bR132.7bR199.1b9.6x2.6x3.9x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022R566.5bR138.0bR207.4b8.4x2.7x4.1x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022R713.5bR111.6bR219.3b9.7x3.3x6.4x
Sun, 08 May 2022R567.8bR115.0bR226.3b9.4x2.5x4.9x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022R695.2bR105.6bR207.2b10.8x3.4x6.6x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022R726.0bR110.7bR218.8b10.5x3.3x6.6x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022R917.3bR112.5bR222.4b10x4.1x8.2x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021R960.2bR111.6bR220.7b11.6x4.4x8.6x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021R1.0tR114.0bR225.6b10.2x4.6x9.1x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021R1.1tR89.3bR77.5b14.3x14x12.1x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021R966.3bR90.4bR78.5b13.8x12.3x10.7x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021R986.7bR90.4bR78.5b13.6x12.6x10.9x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021R1.3tR90.4bR78.5b14.1x16.1x14x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021R1.5tR81.1bR60.9b19.9x24.4x18.3x
Mon, 07 Dec 2020R1.3tR82.3bR50.6b18.6x26.5x16.3x
Thu, 10 Sep 2020R1.3tR78.9bR53.7b16.4x24.7x16.8x
Wed, 03 Jun 2020R1.2tR73.8bR55.4b14.2x21.7x16.2x
Sat, 07 Mar 2020R1.0tR56.1bR46.6b15.4x22.5x18.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

23.2x


Total Market Cap: R1.1tTotal Earnings: R46.6bTotal Revenue: R56.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Ecommerce Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.4x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There are only 2 companies in the South African Internet and Direct Marketing Retail industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Internet and Direct Marketing Retail industry have declined 7.3% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 38% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Ecommerce compare with similar industries?

ZA Market0.36%
Consumer Discretionary2.71%
Online Retail and Ecommerce4.61%
Ecommerce4.61%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NPN NaspersR3.50k4.6%
+R30.5b
49.2%PE19.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

HIL

R23.99

HomeChoice International

7D

-4.0%

1Y

-11.1%

NPN

R3,500.35

Naspers

7D

4.6%

1Y

49.2%