Header cover image

U.S. Capital Markets Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies269
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M7.8%
  • 1Y23.0%
  • YTD12.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Capital Markets industry has remained flat, although notably Coinbase Global gained 18%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 23% in that time. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Capital Markets Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024US$2.0tUS$473.2bUS$76.5b20.2x26.1x4.2x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024US$1.9tUS$467.2bUS$73.2b20.7x25.7x4x
Thu, 16 May 2024US$1.9tUS$466.0bUS$73.2b22.5x26.5x4.2x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024US$1.9tUS$441.7bUS$67.7b19.9x27.7x4.2x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024US$1.8tUS$440.4bUS$67.3b19.3x27.5x4.2x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024US$1.8tUS$426.9bUS$64.7b19.9x27.1x4.1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024US$1.8tUS$435.2bUS$70.5b27.1x25.8x4.2x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023US$1.7tUS$432.8bUS$70.6b27x24.4x4x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023US$1.5tUS$428.6bUS$67.4b27.7x22.1x3.5x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023US$1.6tUS$426.3bUS$68.1b28.1x23.2x3.7x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023US$1.6tUS$426.4bUS$68.1b28.4x23.5x3.8x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023US$1.7tUS$422.9bUS$62.9b30.5x26.9x4x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023US$1.6tUS$419.5bUS$64.4b31.1x24.3x3.7x
Fri, 19 May 2023US$1.5tUS$416.8bUS$63.9b30.3x23.7x3.6x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023US$1.6tUS$423.2bUS$67.8b30.2x23.2x3.7x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023US$1.5tUS$424.0bUS$69.3b28.6x21.9x3.6x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023US$1.8tUS$427.0bUS$72.7b27.9x24.3x4.1x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023US$1.6tUS$443.6bUS$85.8b27.8x19.1x3.7x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022US$1.7tUS$443.4bUS$85.8b27.2x19.9x3.8x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022US$1.6tUS$443.4bUS$89.3b25.1x18.2x3.7x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022US$1.5tUS$454.3bUS$96.3b24.7x15.5x3.3x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022US$1.7tUS$454.8bUS$96.5b25.1x17.1x3.6x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022US$1.6tUS$460.6bUS$106.6b30.3x15.3x3.5x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022US$1.5tUS$471.7bUS$111.6b28x13.8x3.3x
Sat, 21 May 2022US$1.6tUS$472.4bUS$112.5b33x14.3x3.4x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022US$1.8tUS$473.4bUS$115.4b38.7x16x3.9x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022US$2.0tUS$492.5bUS$114.5b16.6x17x4x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022US$2.1tUS$477.5bUS$108.9b15.7x19.2x4.4x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022US$2.1tUS$458.8bUS$101.9b16x20.8x4.6x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021US$2.1tUS$464.6bUS$104.0b14.7x20.5x4.6x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021US$2.3tUS$461.9bUS$100.8b16.2x22.6x4.9x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021US$2.0tUS$442.3bUS$95.2b14.9x20.7x4.5x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021US$1.9tUS$441.8bUS$96.1b14.3x19.6x4.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.3x


Total Market Cap: US$1.8tTotal Earnings: US$95.7bTotal Revenue: US$441.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Capital Markets Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Capital Markets industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 26.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 21.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Capital Markets industry have declined 7.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.3% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Financials industry?

US Market-1.83%
Financials1.57%
Capital Markets0.11%
Diversified Capital Markets6.60%
Financial Exchanges and Data2.58%
Asset Management2.36%
Investment Banking and Brokerage-4.39%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Financial Exchanges and Data industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 37.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 3.3% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Diversified Capital Markets industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 28% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Financial Exchanges and Data industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.3% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
COIN Coinbase GlobalUS$257.7918.2%
+US$9.8b
155.7%PE46.9x
BX BlackstoneUS$138.597.2%
+US$8.3b
32.1%PE53.4x
KKR KKRUS$115.154.0%
+US$3.9b
90.4%PE25.3x
CME CME GroupUS$199.853.3%
+US$2.3b
5.6%PE22.8x
GS Goldman Sachs GroupUS$484.931.1%
+US$1.7b
37.8%PE15.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SCHW

US$62.08

Charles Schwab

7D

-17.6%

1Y

-6.6%

MS

US$102.09

Morgan Stanley

7D

-1.9%

1Y

8.6%

KKR

US$115.15

KKR

7D

4.0%

1Y

90.4%

COIN

US$257.79

Coinbase Global

7D

18.2%

1Y

155.7%

NTRS

US$85.49

Northern Trust

7D

-4.2%

1Y

8.6%

BX

US$138.59

Blackstone

7D

7.2%

1Y

32.1%

GS

US$484.93

Goldman Sachs Group

7D

1.1%

1Y

37.8%

STT

US$84.49

State Street

7D

7.5%

1Y

20.2%

LPLA

US$211.62

LPL Financial Holdings

7D

-19.7%

1Y

-8.1%

RJF

US$108.62

Raymond James Financial

7D

-10.3%

1Y

-0.8%

AMP

US$410.89

Ameriprise Financial

7D

-7.9%

1Y

16.1%

CME

US$199.85

CME Group

7D

3.3%

1Y

5.6%

CBOE

US$184.63

Cboe Global Markets

7D

8.9%

1Y

28.7%