Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Retail Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 07, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M14.0%
  • 1Y2.7%
  • YTD10.1%

The Retail Distributors industry is up 1.1% in the last week, with Inchcape up 0.6%. During this same period, the Smiths News underperformed, falling 13%. Despite this gain, the industry's performance has been flat over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 30% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Retail Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 07 Feb 2023UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.7m11.7x14.6x0.5x
Thu, 05 Jan 2023UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.3m11.4x13.8x0.5x
Sat, 03 Dec 2022UKĀ£3.7bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.3m10.6x12.1x0.4x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022UKĀ£3.2bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£303.2m8.7x10.6x0.4x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022UKĀ£3.1bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£303.2m8.9x10.3x0.3x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022UKĀ£3.5bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£295.9m11.3x11.7x0.4x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022UKĀ£3.5bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£158.0m11.6x22.3x0.4x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£155.5m12.7x21.2x0.4x
Thu, 19 May 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£155.3m14x21x0.4x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022UKĀ£3.2bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£153.4m16.6x20.9x0.4x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£153.4m18.9x21.8x0.4x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.3m23.1x38.7x0.5x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£106.5m24.3x41.1x0.5x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.1m23.6x39x0.5x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.4m24.6x38.5x0.5x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.3m26.1x39.3x0.5x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£102.6m26.6x42.7x0.5x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021UKĀ£3.8bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£105.7m24.4x36x0.4x
Wed, 07 Apr 2021UKĀ£3.7bUKĀ£8.2b-UKĀ£18,905,000.0018.5x-194.7x0.4x
Sat, 09 Jan 2021UKĀ£2.9bUKĀ£7.6b-UKĀ£153,851,500.0013.2x-19x0.4x
Fri, 02 Oct 2020UKĀ£2.0bUKĀ£8.0b-UKĀ£71,233,500.0011.5x-28.6x0.3x
Mon, 06 Jul 2020UKĀ£2.2bUKĀ£8.4bUKĀ£12.3m59.2x179.8x0.3x
Thu, 09 Apr 2020UKĀ£2.0bUKĀ£9.3bUKĀ£183.7m10x10.9x0.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7.8x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£2.8bTotal Earnings: UKĀ£355.5mTotal Revenue: UKĀ£10.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Retail Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.4x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the British Retail Distributors industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 9.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.41x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Retail Distributors industry have declined 5.3% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 4.2% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Consumer Discretionary industry?

GB Market0.85%
Consumer Discretionary2.54%
Retail Distributors0.13%
Distributors0.13%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
INCH InchcapeUKĀ£9.270.6%
+UKĀ£22.7m
11.1%PE15x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News