Header cover image

Australian (ASX) General Merchandise Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 27, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies3
  • 7D0.03%
  • 3M11.9%
  • 1Y-2.7%
  • YTD8.6%

All of the companies in the General Merchandise Stores industry have been up over the last week, with the industry up 2.6%. In contrast, the industry has lost 7.5% in the last 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 5.1% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian General Merchandise Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 27 Jan 2023AU$61.7bAU$40.4bAU$3.2b19.6x19.5x1.5x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022AU$57.5bAU$40.4bAU$3.2b19.8x18.1x1.4x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022AU$59.7bAU$40.4bAU$3.2b23x18.8x1.5x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022AU$55.8bAU$40.4bAU$3.2b20.4x17.6x1.4x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022AU$56.5bAU$40.4bAU$3.2b19.7x17.8x1.4x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022AU$59.3bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b24.3x19.6x1.6x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022AU$55.7bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b20.3x18.5x1.5x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022AU$56.2bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b20.7x18.6x1.5x
Sun, 08 May 2022AU$62.2bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b21.4x20.6x1.7x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022AU$62.7bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b25.4x20.8x1.7x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022AU$62.0bAU$37.5bAU$3.0b25.1x20.5x1.7x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022AU$66.0bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b25.1x20.4x1.8x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021AU$73.4bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b28.1x22.7x2x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021AU$73.8bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b28.2x22.9x2x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021AU$69.4bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b26.5x21.5x1.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021AU$71.5bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b27.3x22.1x1.9x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021AU$81.8bAU$37.5bAU$3.2b22.9x25.3x2.2x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021AU$69.7bAU$37.1bAU$2.9b28.7x23.8x1.9x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021AU$62.6bAU$36.7bAU$2.6b28.3x23.9x1.7x
Mon, 07 Dec 2020AU$62.1bAU$35.3bAU$2.4b32x26.3x1.8x
Thu, 10 Sep 2020AU$59.7bAU$34.0bAU$2.1b33.2x28.4x1.8x
Wed, 03 Jun 2020AU$50.0bAU$32.9bAU$2.2b17.3x22.4x1.5x
Sat, 07 Mar 2020AU$50.8bAU$31.9bAU$2.4b17.5x21.5x1.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24x


Total Market Cap: AU$56.7bTotal Earnings: AU$2.4bTotal Revenue: AU$31.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian General Merchandise Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.2x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There are only 3 companies in the Australian General Merchandise Stores industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the General Merchandise Stores industry have grown 10% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.2% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian General Merchandise Stores compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.58%
Consumer Discretionary0.83%
General Merchanise and Department Stores0.22%
General Merchandise Stores0.031%
Department Stores18.13%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WES WesfarmersAU$49.620.6%
+AU$317.7m
-5.9%PE23.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.